High School Love

highschool

High School.

The time when adolescents become teenagers, and teens become young adults. A place of Friday Night Lights, and spring time basketball games. The different groups, like the cool kids, the lunch room hangouts, study halls, and of course PE shorts (LOL!!)

Now normally, I wouldn’t talk about my time in high school, because it was somewhat of a forgettable experience. I was kind of a dork and social misfit. I guess you could say I was a nerd. It’s funny, because the conversations I had with people were things like, “Hey Jason, do you still make good grades?” What? Did you seriously ask me about school work at school? Yeah, that’s what I remember about high school. I will say this say this though, the one thing I remember and miss most about high school was the romance. Or the types of romance that happens when you’re a kid.

As I’ve gone through life, I’ve discovered so many things about myself. I’ve gone through breakups, make ups, relationships, marriages, etc. Through it all I’ve come to learn so many different things about myself. One things the most prevalent lessons I have learned from high school is how to show love. I’m not saying I learned it all from that time, but there are some important aspects of love I did glean from school. When I mention the relationships in high school, the things I remember most are times when we held hands. The times when we smiled, almost uncontrollably at times. Being giddy at the thought of a note being passed from your sweetheart. I miss talking on the phone all hours of the night, scared one of our parents would embarrass us and tell us to get off the phone. I think that was the tip of the iceberg there. Especially the first time I kissed a girl in the middle of the hallway (thank you Joy Hughes). It was pretty special that someone liked me enough to be seen with me in that way.

Fast forward to adulthood, and I realize that I’m just not as bold as I once was. Just not as romantic. I mean, don’t get me wrong. I still love the romance. I still love the candles, and intimacy, it’s just that I don’t get as much of chance to show it, right? Could be that, or could it be that I don’t go out of my way to make the time for those things I once thought to be so important. I look back and think about the times where I couldn’t stop smiling because I liked a girl that much. Then I think now to how much I try to hide my smile when I’m into someone. It just feels like a different world, that’s all.

Like I said, as adults we just aren’t the way we used to be. Maybe that’s the reason for so many failed marriages and relationships. Maybe that’s the reason why people go to work and they’re not as happy. Or why they take other parts of their lives so seriously. I think that everybody could use somebody to hold hands with. Or someone to walk through the hallways smiling at. You know the kind of smile that makes someone think, ‘they need to get a room’. Hahaha. I just think that it’s just time for us to go back to displaying that child-like exuberance. You know what I’m saying! I have found so many marriages that have taken that for granted. When one person acts silly, all the other says is stop playing. Or when the other wants to be passionate, and kiss, or hug, they hear, “I don’t feel like it, or “not tonight”. Some have just chosen not to show emotion at all, except for in a fight or argument. It’s kinda sad, really.

I think we need to be careful about denying ourselves the very pleasures in life that got us here. The same pleasures that lead us to meeting our spouses or significant others. Those very same things that made you ask her to marry you are the same things she’s looking for in you now. I hear those say that high school was then, and that it needs to be left behind. In all honesty, that’s the only part of high school I wish would return. That’s the part that shoulda never left. Let’s go back and remember That Young Love. That Ol’ Skool Lovin’…Those are the things that make us, well…us.

I’m waiting for that to come back. Cause I can’t wait to see it again.

More to come…

About jaisynaustin

What I write about is life...The way it changes and affects me every day. Love, heartache, and Mystery in relationships.

Leave a Reply

