Weight Loss Journey Part II: Changes

So it’s been a while since I’ve written or talked about anything, but I just wanted to talk for a second about this weight loss thing. Here’s my honest assessment about weight loss: IT SUCKS!!!. Yep there it is.

Now that I’m past that I would say that in doing this I’ve had to be quite realistic with myself and my expectations. The cliche thing to say is that the weight didn’t pile up overnight and it won’t come off overnight. Okay now the truth. I personally expected this to only take a month. It’s almost as if I was under the impression if I went to the gym faithfully without fail for a month, that I would look and be and feel like a new man. Well, I’m here to say that it just didn’t happen that way. I mean, yes, I did lose weight. Yes, I did find a groove exercising. But I look in the mirror and to me, I am exactly the same. Maybe that’s the way it is supposed to happen, maybe not. My motivation felt like it was weaning because I didn’t see anything. And that’s wrong. Is this what other people go through?

So I’m here to say that after I had my moment, I was able to have some more truth hit me.  So here’s my advice for all those starting a weight-loss journey of their own:  The first month of it all is not necessarily about the physical, but mostly about the mental. It’s about making changes to the way you think about things.  About finding something and a routine that works for you.  I had to really evaluate self to figure that out.  I wanted to share with you some of the things that I personally changed.  And before I list them, this is what worked for me personally.  The first I did was let go of soda(well at least for a little while). I know I like soda and I will drink it again, but when I do, it won’t be like I did before. It will be in moderation. They say that soda is bad for you, and so is juice because it has sugar in it, but truth of the matter is, I like sugar and I don’t have an issue with it. So I will drink a soda again, just not right now.
The second change I made, in my belief was the biggest and had the most impact was to changed my portion sizes. That’s the biggest change I could make since I didn’t want to stop eating all of the things I liked. Now granted there are in fact some things that I haven’t and won’t eat as much of now. Such as pastas (all the time), burgers, and potatoes. Again, not that I won’t eat those things again but for now I can chill a bit. As far as the portion sizes. If I eat fries, I get a small now. I changed from eating off of a full plate to eating off of a saucer. I will say that does help, because it changes your mind to seeing something smaller, and being okay with the size of your meal.  That also comes with not going back for seconds (again tough, but possible).  You still have to be mindful of what’s on the saucer plate. It limits the amount you can eat because it will never be as much as a full plate.

After that I started going to the gym weekday mornings at 5 am. I’m a morning person and it kind of helps me get the day started, so that’s what works for me. It also helps me to clear my mind and assess and process the day before and what’s ahead of me for the current day. I’m not saying 5 am will work for everyone, but I know for me, the gym doesn’t work for me after work, because I just wanna be lazy.

So now, the initial results of this. As of today I’ve lost close to 12 lbs in the first month. Now while I don’t think that number is great and I expected more, for the changes I’ve made its pretty good. That’s an average of 3lbs a week for the first 4 weeks. I’m on week 5 now and hopefully I can get another 10, but we shall see. My goal ultimately is to lose 25 to 35 lbs total by August. Not sure if it can be done but I am going to believe it can be.  Like I said earlier. Even though i’m not where I wanna be, I’m not where I was. I now think about the gym like it’s something I gotta do. Today, I had a tough time getting up and didn’t make it. I tried to work out but just was too tired. And I felt guilty probably because it is starting to become a habit for me. That’s kinda cool, I guess. While I expected things to happen overnight, I realized that not every transformation is instantaneous.  It also takes faith and believing in yourself.  Just make sure that whatever you’re doing this for, the main reasons starts with you.  I personally couldn’t have gone this far without my faith. I believe that I will be able to do this, but it means nothing to have that faith if I don’t walk in the direction of the goals I’m trying to accomplish.

More to come

Tags: ,

About jaisynaustin

What I write about is life...The way it changes and affects me every day. Love, heartache, and Mystery in relationships.

One response to “Weight Loss Journey Part II: Changes”

  1. quincy harley jr says :

    very few things worth getting worth getting come easy. You will be SOO glad you hung in there once you get there. Just keep looking forward to the day you can look back and say YEAH! IN YOUR FACE! 🙂

Leave a Reply

