Stop Saying I’m not Saved

“You’re not saved…”  “How can you know Jesus if you don’t…”

Now, in all honesty, no one has ever said this to me or about me.  I’ve been fortunate to never have been accused of being a bad person, or not being Holy Spirit filled, or not knowing anything about Jesus.  I guess I’d call myself lucky for that fact.  Everyone that knows me, knows that I believe in God, and that Jesus came, died, and rose on the third day.   I say that, but I do in fact, and maybe we all know people who that have been told they didn’t know the Lord.  They’ve been told things like you have to do this to be right with God, or that to be known as saved.   And to be real, that is what aggravates me most about the saints (the church).  After all, who are we to say, who is and who is not.  We don’t have, nor have we ever had that type of authority.  For those people out there that are quick to say someone isn’t saved, I will say you’re wrong.  I will also go as far as to say, there are “saved” people out there that don’t know God.  And yes, there is a difference.  But right now, we’re talking about what it means to be saved.

I’m about to get real BIBLE scholar on y’all:

How many requirements are there for being saved?  For those of you who guessed two, you win the door prize of salvation.  The Bible says in Romans 10:9 (King James Version) That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.  Trust me, there was a time when I thought there was more to it as well.  But there isn’t.  There’s no secret spell or potion.  No amount of shared Facebook links, or re-tweets, or instagrams that can save you.  Just confessing, and believing in your heart is what is required.  I think what’s crazy about the Christian community is that we think that it’s all about being in a church and about being baptized (which is very important by the way), and just saying that we’re blessed everyday, that saves us and grants us salvation.  It’s not that.  It’s not even about asking God to forgive you, as we do in our “sinner’s prayer”.  It’s us saying God, I believe in you, and that your son, Jesus Christ, died for my sins, and rose on the third day.  Far too many Christians are looking down on people that don’t go to church, and that can’t restrain themselves from smoking or doing drugs or cursing for that matter.  What we (that’s right I’m talking about myself as well) need to look towards are the heart of people, and get to where they really are.  Find out what holds them back from God, if there is something.  The truth of the matter is, I know most of us, have a saved Grandmother, that will curse us out in a heartbeat!!!  It’s because they know that saying those choice words to you doesn’t make God turn his back on them.

Now on the other side of that, I’m not saying that when you confess and believe, that you’re supposed to stop right there.  When you become saved there are some things that you have to do to maintain your salvation.  You only get saved once, so you don’t lose it, but there is a difference between meeting God, and actually getting to know Him.  I think that’s what people in the church are really getting at.  It’s like the saying, “Come as you are…”  Yes you should come any way you are able, but that doesn’t mean you stay that way.  You have to grow, as you take part in this journey.  So many people are under the illusion that once you get saved, all your problems melt away, when truth of the matter is…SOMETIMES THEY GET worse.  Our flaws are generally intensified when looking at someone on a different level than us.  There is a fine line, between being SAVED v. DELIVERED.  Being saved is great, but once we get saved, we work to be delivered from the things that keep us from being closer to God.  Going back to the example of the person that does drugs, or curses, or has done something worse:  we didn’t become who we are today overnight, and we won’t change to a better person overnight either.  As we get closer, we work on the things that are not pleasing to God, and we do our best to change them.  Some things will happen quicker than others…Some things we’ll never get rid of.  The point in getting better is that it helps us to know who God is and what He wants.  That also comes with learning what His Word is all about.  We don’t want to get to the gates, and God sees us and says, Matthew 7:21-23 “…away from me, I never knew you”   Trust me, that would not be a great outcome, if we got all the way through this life being “saved” and then he sent us to the place where un-saved people go.  OUCH!!!

The Bible tells us, that we are not to be a stumbling block to others.  That means, that we don’t want to keep someone from knowing God because we judged them too soon.  Or hurt someone who was already saved, and trying to learn, but we ended up discouraging them.  Basically, what I’m saying is that having salvation is something we should take seriously.  But if we are to do just that, we must know what it means to be saved, and stop telling people they aren’t without knowing their story.  The world looks down upon Christians for that very reason.  It’s our tendency to judge others without even speaking to them.  Life in itself is a journey, a walk…That’s what we call it ultimately because we will never be quite perfect, but our aspiration to be takes a while, or as some would say, a lifetime.

More to come…

Tags: , , , ,

About jaisynaustin

What I write about is life...The way it changes and affects me every day. Love, heartache, and Mystery in relationships.

One response to “Stop Saying I’m not Saved”

  1. Chanel Jones Humphrey says :

    Amen!

Leave a Reply

