Adversity

Image

Adversity is defined as a state, condition, or instance of serious or continued difficulty.  I’d say that having a baby 3 months early and worrying through the night whether or not she was gonna survive, was facing a little adversity.  When I look at this picture, that’s what I see…Adversity. I’d also say that having to wait 2 1/2 months to take her come, being at the hospital everyday, watching her do well only to see her have minor setbacks that delayed things was adversity as well. 

I mean, don’t get me wrong, having a daughter is the most blessed experience in the world.  She’s everything I could have ever imagined and hoped for.  She smiles and I smile.  She makes me laugh and she reminds me a lot of my twin sister, especially today when I saw her asleep with her fingers in her mouth.  But I have to say that having her and fatherhood has never been an easy adjustment for me.  There are times when she cries and I have no idea what she wants or needs.  She’s fed, she’s changed, and she’s just whiny…  Who knows, right?

But that’s just it.  I honestly wouldn’t take back those moments.  Those 2 months of being in the NIC-U.  The tears I cried when they had to put her back on the breathing tube.  Or when I made the bottle too hot, and burned her tongue (Oh man, that broke my heart!)  She been there the whole time.  We’ve learned each other, and been through the fire.  And we still have a long way to go.  But I know that I welcome that adversity.  And most people would say, be careful what you wish for, but I truly do. I believe that God positions us, and re-adjusts us with the things we go through daily.  Whether it be in marriages, or on the job, or just plain ‘ole everyday things.  I’ve seen so much, but I know others have as well.  And he has blessed me with growth because of it.  I watch Samaya Sky grow, and I know that I am growing too.  As she grows, my hope grows.  And I will teach her, that things happen to everyone, good or bad.  It doesn’t matter.  That’s just life.  But if she trusts in not only her ability, but her God, she can do all things…  That’s the best part about it all.  That’s what makes the sacrifice, and everything we deal with on a daily basis else worth while.

I can look to her and let her know that everything is going to be alright.  And even though she may feel pain, or have her heart broken at some point.  She will get through it.  Just l did.  Just as her mother did.  Just as her grandparents, aunts and uncles did.  That’s what we do.  We walk through the valley of the shadow of death.  We fear no evil, because He is with us.   You gotta love that thought!!!

More to come…

About jaisynaustin

What I write about is life...The way it changes and affects me every day. Love, heartache, and Mystery in relationships.

Leave a Reply

